A Honest Look

Last night I finished up my Chapter 12 edits and decided it was time to pause and take a respective look at the plot. There has been many changes since the final editing phases started. It was at this point I realized that many parts of my stories have changed so much, I needed to once again revise the ending.

To ensure the plot is believable I need to do the following:

  • Revise a few of the subplots
  • Move the climax of the story
  • Modify two of the character’s motives (one MC and one secondary character)
  • Delete several implausible scenes
  • And change several settings

To strengthen my writing, I need to:

  • Ensure my narrative voice is consistent throughout, several areas have a severe change in tone
  • Strengthen the theme through stronger word selection
  • Reduce the repetition of activity, mix it up a bit
  • Realize my strengths and ensure it’s applied throughout (description, realistic dialogue, emotional connection)
  • Realize my weaknesses and overcome (transitions, internal dialogue)

It’s important to a writer to take stock of their writing often. This is the only way they can improve. I hope that an honest approach is the key to improving my own writing.  If you’re interested in some information/tips on revisions , here’s some links:

Creative Writing Fiction  (Writing Tips)

Revising Strategies for Fiction and Non-Fiction

Editing a Novel and Surviving the Rejection Slip

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Honest Look”

  1. Cindy Says:

    It sounds like a good plan. A writer’s work is never done.

  2. arnorris Says:

    Thank you Cindy, the encouragement and support is wonderful. We writer’s have to stick together.

Leave a Reply

