Goldilock Syndrome

It must’ve been poetic karma that all this changing and major story revelations kicked off with lucky Chapter 13. I’m sure it’s there…somewhere.

Any-who.

Lot’s of rearranging done tonight. Chapter 13 started out at 6,549 words. For those of you who are familiar with my writing, this is way longer than any chapter I would do. After the replotting and overall enlightenment of the last few days Chapter 13 was cut down to 980 words. This, of course, is way to small for my chapter taste. Adding the fact that it was just a Hodge-Podge of remaining scenes I was really stressing about the Chapter.

So, tonight. I went back to the basics. Paper, pen, index cards. It’s the easiest way for me to focus and streamline my creative thoughts.

  • I separated each scene and laid it out on the coffee table
  • I took some index cards and put a plot point on each one, then lined them along the coffee table
  • I ordered my scenes along the plot, where they fit best
  • I then took a different color index and identified transitions and missing scenes to complete each plot point for the chapter

It was then I moved to the computer:

  • I put a bold plot outline 
  • I moved the scenes to their appropriate section
  • Then I entered highlighted text summarizing the needed scenes to add

Whoa’la…rough (very rough) draft of Chapter 13. From that point I’ve been busy fleshing out the missing scenes, and smoothing out transitions.

In summary: I ended up with Goldilock syndrome. The first version was way to cold, the second was way to hot, and the third? It is just right! (As a new draft, that is)

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Goldilock Syndrome”

  1. DennisVega Says:

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

  2. Tnelson Says:

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

  3. RobD Says:

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!! 🙂

  4. Levini Hostile Says:

    Comfortabl y, the post is actually the freshest on this precious topic. I fit in with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your incoming updates. Saying thanks will not just be enough, for the fantasti c clarity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates with my SEO Review website.Gratifying work and much success in your business endeavors!Thank you.

  5. Maire Skinnen Says:

    Intimately, the post is in reality the sweetest on this worthy topic. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the phenomenal clarity in your writing. I will at once grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates.Pleasant work and much success in your business enterprise!Thanks.

Leave a Reply

